Guides

Access to Peoples Archive


Peoples Archive currently contains 44 of the 20th century's greatest thinkers, creators and achievers telling their life stories in 4979 stories totalling over 265 hours of footage, which can be explored by watching videos and by reading full transcripts.

This guide provides detailed descriptions of the different ways of accessing the Peoples Archive website.


Guests

Access to Peoples Archive is free and as a guest you can benefit from the following features:


Access to each speaker's complete life story

As a guest, you will have access to the entire archive and will be able to view all of the speaker's life stories as well as read each story's full transcript.


Related Resources

Each speaker in the archive also has comprehensive lists of related resources; such as external links, illustrations (extra footage and photographs relating to the story in question), bibliographies, filmographies and internal links to other stories in the archive that explore similar themes. All of these resources are openly available as well as the ability to consult playlists compiled by other users and the possibility of conducting detailed searches on any subject.

Please note: As a guest user, you will be able to consult playlists but will be unable to compile any. For further information on playlists, please consult our making, sharing, finding and using playlists guide in the guides section of the site.


Start using the site now

Back to top


Registered users

As a registered user of Peoples Archive you will benefit from the same access rights as guest users; but with the added advantage of being able to personalise your use of the website, through my archive, giving you access to:


Bookmarks

Helping you keep track of how far through a speaker's life story you are so that you can easily come back to it. Your bookmark is available at http://www.peoplesarchive.com/bookmark/


Favourites

Allowing you convenient access to the stories you find particularly interesting. You can view and manage your favourites from http://www.peoplesarchive.com/myarchive/


Playlists

Compiling lists of stories and adding your own notes to describe them. As playlists can be private or public, these are great for sharing stories with friends, colleagues or students. Playlists are accessed from http://www.peoplesarchive.com/playlists/

More information on playlists including how to create them can be found in our Viewing and Making Playlists guide in the guides section of the site


Register now

Back to top


© 2008 Web of Stories | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Sitemap | FAQ